abiding is investing

A professor once said, “You will invest your life in something, or you will throw it away on nothing.” Funny how that makes so much more sense to me today than it did, now over 30 years ago! Crazy how time flies.

I think about that often these days. What am I truly investing my life in? It’s not what I say I am investing my life in. No, no, no. That’s too easy and so often not true. If I want to know what I am investing my life in, I must look at what I spend my time in. What I spend my resources on. What I think about throughout the day. If I am to be painfully honest with myself, that is where I will find my investment of my life. And being painfully honest with myself, I sure throw a lot of it away on nothing.

As I journey to draw closer to God and learn how to truly abide in Him, I must honestly look within. Jesus said something in John 5:37-40 that causes me to again pause, think, and assess where I am. Am I investing my life in a pursuit to love God and love others? Am I taking steps in abiding in Him?

Jesus said, And the Father who sent Me, He has testified of Me. You have neither heard His voice at any time nor seen His form. You do not have His word abiding in you, for you do not believe Him whom He sentYou search the Scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; it is these that testify about Me; and you are unwilling to come to Me so that you may have life.” 

I love how Jesus gets to the heart of things. As I read this over and over,  I hear Him saying to me, “Mark, do you see how fear really hinders you from truly abiding in Me? And fear is really a lack of faith and trust. You can search the Bible from cover to cover but understand that the Bible points you to me. Isn’t it time to come to Me? Isn’t it time to come to your Father in heaven? Isn’t that what you felt when you felt you were home? Come and experience life. That’s at the heart of abiding.” 

Yes it it. Yes it is. Father, help me to come to you. To come to you, even in the midst of my fears. To come to you, in the midst of times of great joy and happiness. Draw me to you, that I might abide in You. Yes, that’s my prayer. Abiding in investing my life in You.

Another step…

Leave a Reply

