abiding and obeying

As I continue my journey, I find it very easy to forget how important obedience is. And how vitally connect obedience is to abiding.

“By this we know that we have come to know Him, if we keep His commandments. The one who says, “I have come to know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him; but whoever keeps His word, in him the love of God has truly been perfected. By this we know that we are in Him: the one who says he abides in Him ought himself to walk in the same manner as He walked.” 1 Jn. 2:3-6

Truly knowing God means that I obey His commands. That makes sense because if I truly know that God is who He says He is, obedience is the only reasonable response. But what makes this so amazing is that God deserves obedience but desires love and an intimate relationship with me as well! The more I consider that, the more amazed and humbled by the actions and heart of Almighty God.

And in this passage there is another valuable step in my journey and in learning to abide. How do I know if I am abiding in God? When I am walking in the same manner Jesus did. May I understand how vital obedience is abiding. May I walk as Jesus did.

But to do this is impossible on my own. How I need God to empower and enable me to do so. I need to choose to abide and obey. That’s my part. That I can do. But I need God’s power to do so. As the journey continues, a three word prayer become more and more important, “Come, Holy Spirit!”

Leave a Reply

